December 4, 2022
Lionel Messi has won the Ballon d’Or for the seventh time, beating Bayern Munich’s Polish striker Robert Lewandowski and Chelsea’s Jorge Gino.
Cristiano Ronaldo, who comes along every year, will not be in the top 5 positions this time around Messi was announced this year’s winner of the award at an awards ceremony in Paris.
Messi has achieved an unparalleled feat. 34-year-old Messi has won the Ballon d’Or in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019, and now 2021. The Ballon d’Or was not awarded last year due to the covid outbreak.
Although Lewandowski’s performance from last season continued this season, his absence from the national team was a small setback for the Polish star. Barcelona’s women’s team player Alexia Putellas wins the Ballon d’Or for women footballers. Barcelona’s Spanish player Pedri wins the Copa trophy for young players.