December 8, 2022

With Tamil Nadu needing five runs to win off one ball, Shahrukh Khan pulled off a heist with a last-ball six to guide his team to a record third Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy title. Defending champion Tamil Nadu was left needing 16 runs to win from the last over after the top and middle-order failed to score at an adequate rate. Shahrukh’s unbeaten 33 off 15 balls was instrumental in taking his team over the line from a precarious 57 to win off 28 balls.

Inserted by Tamil Nadu, Karnataka was rocked by three early strikes before Abhinav Manohar’s rescue act took the team past 100. Praveen Dubey and Jagadeesha Suchith’s cameos steered Karnataka to a competitive 151 for seven with 42 runs coming in the last three overs.